Archived Webinars

All of our webinars are free and open to anyone who wants to learn more about our products and services. Webinars are hosted regularly and cover a myriad of industry-related topics. 

Click "register now" on any of the webinars below to previous webinars on-demand.

Webinar

Multiply Your Probiotic Success: Markets, Science and Delivery

June 28, 2017

2 PM EST (8 PM CET)

Market Segment: Consumer Health & Nutrition

As one of the fastest growing supplement ingredients, probiotics have thrived and are projected to grow at 11% CAGR by 2021, thanks to consumer awareness about the positive impact these beneficial bacteria have on digestive health. Demand continues to expand as new benefits and applications are discovered. In fact, the projected sales growth for both adult and pediatric probiotics is expected to outpace the total vitamin and dietary supplement market by 5-10% CAGR.

With this consumer enthusiasm, today’s supplement providers have many options to consider as they create probiotic supplements. It is important to understand how to tailor the product message and claims to stand out from the crowd. Important to the success of any probiotic supplement is stability and efficient delivery. Putting product performance at the heart of communication can also help brands to win more consumers, and even extend into new markets and applications.

Key Learning Objectives:

  • New supplement trends for probiotics and digestive health;
  • Market drivers and challenges;
  • Clinical studies and how they aid your product development;
  • How to engineer superior product performance.

Presented by:

  • Matthew Oster, Head of Industry Research, Consumer Health, Euromonitor International
  • Gregory Leyer, PhD, Chief Science Officer, UAS Laboratories
  • Missy Lowery, Senior Marketing Manager, Capsugel

Moderator:

  • Sean Moloughney, Editor, Nutraceuticals World

Register now


QbD Applications for Lipid-based Pharmaceutical Products

June 22, 2017

10 AM EDT (4 PM CET - 7 AM PDT)

Market Segment: Biopharmaceutical

In this webinar, Capsugel experts will discuss the application of Quality by Design (QbD) to lipid-based formulations (LBF). QbD applied through scientific approaches to the development and finalisation of LBF commercial processes can shorten project timelines while reducing risks and gaining valuable product knowledge.

Case studies demonstrating the application of QbD principles to complex product development and process transfer projects utilising both liquid-filled hard capsule (LFHC) and soft gelatin capsule technology will be presented.

Presented by:

  • Vincent Bechtel, Manager, Tech Transfer & Innovation, Capsugel
  • Alyn McNaughton, Technical Director, Capsugel

Register now


Healthy Ageing Webinar: Consumer-centric product development

June 22, 2017

3 PM CET (9 AM EDT)

Market Segment: Consumer Health & Nutrition

Register today and join the discussion on how combined expertise in formulation and capsule technology enables food supplement marketers and manufacturers to innovate and address the needs of people aged over 40.

Presented by:

  • Dominik Mattern, Business Development Manager Consumer Health and Nutrition, Capsugel

Register now


Application of Multiparticulate Technologies for Drug Delivery

June 21, 2017

8 AM PT (11 AM ET - 5 PM CET)

Market Segment: Biopharmaceutical

Multiparticulates are a versatile group of dosage forms applicable to a broad range of drug delivery problem statements. Multiparticulate technologies enable solutions to a broad range of drug development and formulation challenges.

Key Learning Objectives:

  • The application of various multiparticulate dosage forms including lipid multiparticulates, spray layered multiparticulates and mini-tablets
  • Formulation, processing and scale-up strategies for immediate and modified release lipid multi-particulates
  • Additional functionalization by fluid bed coating to enable tastemasking and enteric protection

Presented by:

  • Brett Waybrant, Product Development Lead, Capsugel / Bend Research

Register now


Engineered Particle Platform for Rapid Assessment of Inhaled Formulations

May 25, 2017

10:30 AM EDT (4:30 PM CET - 7:30 AM PDT)

Market Segment: Biopharmaceutical

Capsugel and Lovelace Biomedical logo

An increasing number of therapies are targeting lung delivery for treatment of selected disease states. These include novel targets for improved treatment of asthma and COPD but also for localized infection and orphan disease states. The active pharmaceutical ingredients (API) being developed for these disease states span a broad range of physical/chemical properties and range in classification from small molecules to more complex milli-molecules to biomolecules ranging from siRNA to mAbs. Many of these new actives—due to poor crystallinity, poor stability, or narrow therapeutic index, are unsuitable for traditional inhalation processes and formulations.

Capsugel has developed a spray-dried engineered particle platform for the delivery of API with a broad range of physical properties to the lung. These engineered formulations allow for the manufacture of high fine particle fraction (FPF) formulations using a gentle process addressing key issues described above. This in turn allows for rapid formulation development and assessment. These formulations have been evaluated by Lovelace Respiratory Institute in a variety of select animal models including models for bronchoconstriction and fibrosis.

Case studies describing optimization of spray drying processes for manufacture of engineered particles will be shown in this presentation. In vitro characterization of these materials will be presented along with in vivo evaluation of the materials.

Presented by:

  • Devon DuBose, Senior Manager Inhalation Product Development, Capsugel / Bend Research
  • Philip Kuehl, Scientist, Director—Scientific Core Laboratories, Lovelace Biomedical

Register now